Laura Marling Speak’s Because She Can

13 Apr

Laura Marling’s gone and grown up a bit hasn’t she? Along with a new image and a much more mature attitude towards her music Laura Marling released I Speak Because I Can last week to rave reviews and from me an overwhelming sense of relief that she hasn’t been put through the Major Label mill and come out a pop star. Thank God.

The album stays on course throughout like an even more melancholy Joni Mitchell if that’s possible, expressing her rather dark outlook on life and ramblings in the woods. Two songs that stood out to me, other than the already released Devil’s Spoke are the following. Have a listen and then buy the album, it’s in my top 5 of the last years music.

Laura Marling – Hope in the Air

Laura Marling – Blackberry Stone

Leave a comment